Orthopaedic Traumatology Fellowship Program History

In 1966, the University of Washington assumed control of the King County Medical Center, which then became Harborview Medical Center. Donald Gunn, M.D. was the Chief of Orthopaedics at Harborview Medical Center in 1968-9, and Sigvard T. Hansen Jr., M.D. was the Chief Resident in Orthopaedic Surgery. D. Kay Clawson, M.D. was the Chief of Orthopaedics for the University of Washington, of which Harborview Medical Center was a major component.

In 1971, Dr. Hansen visited Gerhardt Kuntscher and learned advanced techniques of medullary nailing. He was involved in the early North American AO/ASIF development and, in particular, worked with Hans Willenegger.

In 1972, Dr. Hansen became chief of Orthopaedics at Harborview Medical Center and established the roots of aggressive management of long bone and pelvic fractures. In 1973 Drs. Clawson and Hansen attended the AO Course in Davos, Switzerland. Thereafter, stable fixation became the treatment of choice at Harborview. Dr. Robert A. Winquist began his six years Harborview tenure in 1974. He gained extensive clinical experience with closed medullary nailing of femur fractures, as well as open reduction and internal fixation of metaphyseal and articular fractures.

The first Advanced Clinical Experience (ACE) in Orthopaedics was obtained by Dr. Jos Stuyck of Belgium in 1979. Since that time, there have been over 100 orthopaedists trained in traumatology at Harborview Medical Center through the ACE and AO Fellowship programs. AO Fellowships are 1-3 months scholarships administered through Harborview Medical Center and funded by AO International.

Drs. Clawson and Hansen
Drs. Clawson and Hansen